There's so much more to do
Explore a unique complex of listed frameshops, cottages and outbuildings to see the working and living conditions of the framework knitters who occupied it throughout the nineteenth century.
With a network of over 8 kilometres of footpaths, grassland, conservation and landscaped areas, the park is excellent for walking, jogging, cycling, spotting wildlife and exercising your dog.
The site includes locomotive and rolling stock workshops, a bus group, a miniature railway, as well as a cafeteria and shops.
Originally built on the site of a Roman villa, Flawford Church was the mother church for Ruddington, Edwalton, Plumtree and Bradmore. The church was demolished in stages between 1773 and 1778 but the churchyard remains with a few standing headstones. The church site was excavated in the 1960s and the archaeological material is deposited at Nottingham University Museum.
Ruddington Shaw St Cemetery, which was developed in the 1870s, is the final resting place of the three survivors of the Rorke’s Drift, Caleb Wood, Robert Tongue and James Marshall. The graves were rededicated in the last decade.
More industrial chic than picture postcard, Ruddington has a charm lent by its compact village centre built in the characteristic Flemish bond chequered brickwork and remaining framework knitters’ workshops. It’s well worth allowing 20 minutes or more to wander around the village.